Rye Daza: On Becoming a Milo Qualifier

As many were left heartbroken from the recent 40th Milo Marathon Eliminations as they failed to make it to medal cut-off or to qualify, there were also a handful who triumphed in not only getting their Milo “platito”, but also a slot to the Milo National Finals in December.
One runner now Milo qualifier is my TBR batchmate, Rye Daza. We have always known Rye to have the shortest shorts and taped thighs during our TBR training days and for being one of the fast runners in our batch.results

After TBR, along with several runner friends mostly from the same TBR batch formed Team Matindi which has already been making a name in the running community. Let’s hear Rye’s story of his journey into making it to the qualifying list of the prestigious Milo Marathon.

How Did You Get Into Running?

For a brief time in some small municipalities of Samar, I would sometimes join relay track and field events during school foundation days. But long distance running only started in 2011. The first event I witnessed was Adidas KOTR. I went there just to meet some friends, who eventually invited me to join them for a 5K run at the 2011 edition of QCIM. That’s when I decided to train and to take on running as a hobby/sport.

What made you decide to go for Milo Q?
2016 is when I turned 30, and I wanted to achieve highlights and milestones in this year. One of them is to either beat my full marathon PR (which for me has been long overdue) or qualify for Milo Marathon. When I was plotting my training plan, it was actually 2 weeks shorter than my original plan. I decided late because I was torn between taking a very long break and continuing with running. When I realized I cant quit running that easy, I decided to join running events with quality. That I need to prepare for all of them, and that I should have good if not better finish times.

How long did you train for your Milo Q?
With the small knowledge I gained from running over the past few years, I have learned to design my own training plan. I do them all myself. I plot it to match the kind of training and schedule that works for me. My training plan was supposed to be 16 weeks, but I was left with only 14 weeks when I finally decided to do Milo Marathon.
rye_train

My training consists of (all) runs, no cross training because my schedule isn’t very feasible for additional workouts (though, I originally planned to do some). My run days are 4-5x a week that varies from short runs, hill repeats, speed intervals, and long runs. My main focus was my target marathon race pace (5:20min/km).

What Were The Sacrifices/ Preparations You Had to Make?

If I could consider something as a sacrifice, that would be my not joining races very often. I remember in 2012 and 2013 I would have at least 3 run events in a month, that’s when I experienced various injuries. Now, I carefully select the races I join. I make sure they do not mess up the training for the next event after. Or they would be beneficial to the event I am focusing on (ex: Runfest for Milo). My preparation was mainly training. Few days before the event I just made sure I am well hydrated. And fully rested the night before the event. It’s when the night shift works for me. I get to sleep enough and easier in the afternoon prior to race day.

What Were Your Feelings Before, During and After You Milo Qualifying Race?

rye_runBefore the race, it was a lot of jitters! I was very anxious and afraid that I would disappoint myself (not a lot of people knew I was going for Milo Q). I was so anxious to the point that I was (or thought I was) feeling a bit of pain on my previous injuries (Shin Splints, Achilles Tendinitis, Runner’s Knee, etc.). They all turned out to be hallucination. 😃

During the race was calmer. After maintaining my pace for 7KMs and eliminating my worries about an upset stomach, I was confident that I could keep a steady pace until KM35, which I did. I was only worried that my quads will cramp. They did for a short period- when the route met with the surge of 5/10/21K runners. I couldn’t run straight, good thing it was a short stretch.

What happened after finishing the run is what I never expected I would ever do in an event. I cried like a baby after getting my medal. I really could not believe what just happened. It was so fulfilling and overwhelming at the same time. I didn’t really think I would qualify. A PR was more likely, but qualifying, I had so much doubts. That’s why it was too emotional for me when I finished within my age group’s cutoff.

Rye_Cry

Last Words to Those Who Want to be Like You.

Please don’t be me po. Because it’s a hard life. Charot! Hahaha!
Seriously though, in running, training and preparation is always the key. Not the expensive gears and accessories. You don’t need them to train better. You know me Jah, I’m a firm believer of the question “nakakabilis ba yan?”. Because it’s true. Not all accessories would contribute to better runs. A GPS watch or an expensive compression tights doesn’t guarantee better finish times. Not using compression accessories prevents dependence on them. It also helps to not use any timing device from time to time. Because it takes away the pressure in keeping up with a specific pace. When training, I only have comfy (and skimpy 😂) clothes on, a quality pair of socks & shoes on, my Simple Hydration Bottle and phone with me.
Lastly, training is hard, but it should always be fun. It’s the only thing that will keep us going. When there’s no more fun, what else would we be doing it for?

Gun Time: 3:47:42
Chip Time: 3:47:29
Rank: 69th out of 2,097
* Photo Credits: Adrian Aquino/AV Photography (running), Rye Daza (UP Science picture)
Leave a Reply

